Journal of Rheumatic Diseases

Table. 3.

2011 American College of Rheumatology diagnostic criteria

Criteria A patient satisfies the modified ACR 2010 fibromyalgia diagnostic criteria if the following three conditions are met:
1. Widespread pain index (WPI) ≥7 and symptom severity score ≥5 or WPI of 3∼6 and symptom severity score ≥9. 2. Symptoms have been present at a similar level for at least 3 months. 3. The patient does not have a disorder that would otherwise sufficiently explain the pain.
1. WPI: note the number of areas in which the patient has had pain over the past week. In how many areas has the patient had pain? Score will be between 0 and 19.
Shoulder girdle, left; hip (buttock, trochanter), left; jaw, left; upper back; Shoulder girdle, right; hip (buttock, trochanter), right; jaw, right; lower back; Upper arm, left; upper leg, left; chest; neck; Upper arm, right; upper leg, right; abdomen; Lower arm, left; lower leg, left; Lower arm, right; lower leg, right.
2. Symptom Severity Score: fatigue; waking unrefreshed; cognitive symptoms.
For each of these three symptoms, indicate the level of severity over the past week using the following scale: 0=no problem 1=slight or mild problems; generally mild or intermittent 2=moderate; considerable problems; often present and/or at a moderate level 3=severe: pervasive, continuous, life-disturbing problems
The Symptom Severity Score is the sum of the severity of the three symptoms (fatigue, waking unrefreshed, and cognitive symptoms) plus the sum of the number of the following symptoms occurringduring the previous 6 months: headaches, pain or cramps in the lower abdomen, and depression (0∼3). The final score is between 0 and 12.

>Adapted from the article of Wolfe et al. (J Rheumatol 2011;38:1113-22) [9].

J Rheum Dis 2022;29:4~13
© J Rheum Dis